About Energy Quest

Energy Quest is the award-winning energy education website of the California Energy Commission. It debuted on the World Wide Web on October 1, 1995, to celebrate October as National Energy Awareness Month!

Energy is an integral part of our daily lives. Teaching an "energy ethic" to conserve finite resources is essential to our energy future, which is currently dependent on fossil fuels. We also must rely on our youth to help us create new ways to harness the elemental forces of our planet and the universe. They are tomorrow's scientists and inventors. They will discover new means of energy production and innovative ways to use less energy. We hope Energy Quest will answer their questions and spur creativity and imagination.

Albert Einstein once said:

			"Imagination is more important than knowledge,
			for knowledge is limited, whereas imagination embraces 
			the entire world – stimulating progress, 
			giving birth to evolution."

Information on our site was developed and maintained by the Media & Public Communications Office of the Commission in consultation with Commission staff and educational experts. We appreciate comments, constructive criticism, and corrections.

Energy Quest is dedicated to the memory of former Energy Commission Chairman Charles R. "Chuck" Imbrecht, whose vision of a secure energy future and desire to educate the public lives on in this site.

Credits and Acknowledgements

State of California
Edmund G. Brown Jr., Governor

California Energy Commission


Robert B. Weisenmiller, PhD., Chair
Karen Douglas, J.D.
Andrew McAllister

Created and Maintained by
Web Development Team
Media & Public Communications Office
Adam Gottlieb, Assistant Executive Director

Current and past EQ project and website contributors (including student assistants):

Bob Aldrich, Zeb Bakken, Eric Bautista, David Benning, William Bennett, Patti Berg, Olena Bilyk, Steve Bonta, Cristian Borlovan, Connie Bruins, Chris Burgess, Ramkumar Chandrasekharan, Marilyn Chenault, Rebecca Connell, Mary Ann Costamagna, Chris Davis, Percy Della, Jon Doidge, Mark DiGiovanna, Fidel Encarnacion, Tino Flores, Tracy Fong, Sue Foster, Susanne Garfield, Jackie Goodwin, Adam Gottlieb, Chris Graillat, Carol Greenwood, Janet Gregory, Karen Hamilton, Andrew Hartman, Nanacy Hassman, Max Hennum, Sharon Howell, Suzanne Jarrett, Suvrat Joshi, Kevin Kidd, Robin Kreczkowski, Aditya Kulkarni, Darrell Leu, Choi Lu, Lana McAllister, Betty McCann, Jon Matthews, Samantha Mickelson, Amy Morgan, Farideh Namjou, Elizabeth Parkhurst, Gabriela Peña, Rob Schlichting, George Sholin, Cathy Small, Julie Rogers-Talbert, Derek Tran, Karen Van Egdon, James Waller, Chris Wardall, Michael Wilson, Jia Yang

© 1994 - 2017 California Energy Commission.
Energy Quest™ is a trademark of the California Energy Commission.
All rights are reserved.